Arrietty: The Borrower

As a child I remember reading “The Borrowers” a story about a family of small people who lived with humans and borrowed from them. When I first came across this the name ringed a bell but I couldn’t remember why. I then looked it up and found out that this was based on a book I had read when I was still in elementary school. I was excited as I was familiar with the storyline and wonder how they were going to tell the story of Arrietty meeting the boy and how her life changed.

Summary:

14-year-old Arrietty and the rest of the Clock family live in peaceful anonymity as they make their own home from items “borrowed” from the house’s human inhabitants. However, life changes for the Clocks when a human boy discovers Arrietty.

Credits: IMDb

Arrietty with her parents.

Arrietty with Sho (The human boy).

This movie was beautifully drawn with detail. What I love about Studio Ghibli is that they make the storyline go so smoothly making you fall in love with the characters and the setting of the story as well. One important thing also is the music. The music has always been a big part and I always enjoy listening to it after watching the movie. I found out that this time it was not Joe Hisaishi who composed the music for this movie but Cecile Corbel. She sent in a demo tape and they asked her to compose the music for this movie. I say it was a wise choice as she did a wonderful job. You can listen to the song below.

http://www.box.net/shared/96gkzg5zadqipzs1810b

I highly recommended this movie! If you get a change go and see it! It will be releasing in the US this year so please try to see it then! Here’s the trailer below!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

